Winners of Past Awards

APEG Emerging Investigators Awards

This award is presented at the annual scientific meeting of APEG to the best scientific presentation by an APEG member who are within 5 years of completing their FRACP (or equivalent).

The award is made on the advice of a committee, which consists of at least 5 people appointed by APEG Council. Candidates are assessed according to their project’s scientific merit and originality, the clarity of their presentation and their response to questions from the audience.

Past Emerging Investigator Award Recipients

Conference location


1996 Glenelg Christine Burren
1997 Bondi Maria Craig
1998 Perth Michelle Jack
1999 Coolum Esko Wiltshire
2000 Sydney Craig Jefferies
2001 Southport Craig Munns
2002 Darwin / Kakadu Kristen Neville
2003 Melbourne Elaine Tham
2004 Auckland Louise Conwell
2005 Lyon
2006 Hobart Ann Maguire
2007 Broome Michelle O’Connell and Rochelle Ryan
2008 Canberra Peter Simm
2009 Coolum Shihab Hameed
2010 Adelaide Paul Benitez-Aguirre
2011 Perth Natasha Heather
2012 Queenstown Jacqueline Hewitt
2013 Sydney Carmel Smart
2014 Darwin Benjamin Albert & Vinutha Shetty
2015 Brisbane Stephanie Johnson
2016 Alice Springs Quynh-Nhu Nguyen
2017 Hobart Jessica Harbison & Marie-Anne Burckhardt
2018 Newcastle Kriti Joshi
2019 Adelaide Yassmin Musthaffa
2020 Online Tenele Smith
2021 Online Lara Graves


APEG Medal Winners

Robert Vines Medal for Clinical Excellence in Paediatric Endocrinology Norman Wettenhall Medal for Research and Innovation
2006     Mike Thomsett 2007    Garry Warne
2008     Martin Silink 2009    George Werther
2010     Jenny Couper 2011     Tim Jones
2012     Neville Howard 2013     Wayne Cutfield
2014     Chris Cowell 2015     Kim Donaghue
2016      Margaret Zacharin 2017     Paul Hofman
2018      Patricia Crock 2019    Maria Craig
2020     Non awarded due to no ASM 2021    Non Awarded due to no in person ASM


Nursing Development Grant Winners

2021 Katherine Prior, John Hunter Children’s Hospital, NSW
2020 No grant awarded
2019 Julia McCombe, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Vic
2018 Jennifer la Cour, Queensland Children’s Hospital, Qld
2017 No grant awarded
2016 No grant awarded
2015 Shannon Reakes, The Canberra Hospital, ACT
2014 Alison Gwiazdzinski, Women and Children’s Hospital, SA
2013 Irene Mitchellhill, Sydney Children’s Hospital, NSW
2012 Karen Shah, Royal Children’s Hospital, QLD
2011 Bin Moore, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead, NSW